Dupplica Review: Unlimited Online Backup for $2/Month

Warning: Dupplica is having unknown problems with their service, and I would not recommend you sign up at this time. (June 9, 2016)

Dupplica is an inexpensive online backup service, at only $2/month per computer.  It works on PC and Mac, and touts secure AES-256 encryption among its features.

Dupplica logo

Editor's Rating:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rate It Now
User Rating:
Rating: 1.8/5 (9 votes cast)

Pros

  • Unlimited backup; no storage limits
  • Inexpensive; back up 10 PCs for only $3/month
  • No file size restrictions
  • Great mobile apps

Cons

  • It’s a smaller, relatively unknown backup service
  • No option to use a custom encryption key

The Bottom Line

Dupplica provides unlimited online backup at a great price.

Dupplica Plans and Pricing

Dupplica charges $2/month for unlimited backup space for one computer.  The family plan is $3/month, which lets you back up up to 10 computers – all under the same account.

Dupplica has a sync add-on, which lets you sync files between your computers, as well as share files with other people.  The cost for this is $99/year, and it includes 500 GB of sync space.  There’s also an add-on to back up NAS devices, which is $179/year.

Dupplica Features

  • Unlimited storage and no file size restrictions (back up full HD movies, etc.)
  • 30 day free trial – no credit card required
  • Back up 10 computers on the family plan
  • Access files from mobile apps
  • Keeps deleted files for 30 days
  • EU-based data centers

Dupplica Installation & Setup

Setting up Dupplica is fairly easy.  After downloading and installing the software, it asked me which folders I’d like backed up, then started backing up my files to the cloud.

Dupplica Setup Wizard

The Dupplica Setup Wizard.

By right-clicking on Dupplica’s system tray icon, I could select Manage Backups.  From there I could change the folders that are backed up, the backup schedule, and file exclusions.  Dupplica excludes files such as .exe, .iso, and .log by default.  Backups are set to run every hour, however I changed this to “realtime” so my files are always protected.

The Settings tab lets you run an integrity check on your data (I will run a separate integrity check in the Performance section of this review).  You can also change proxy settings and set bandwidth restrictions.

Dupplica Performance

Dupplica is powered by Livedrive, which is one of the largest cloud storage companies in the world.  Like Livedrive, its data centers are located in the EU.  Both services use similar software.

I was able to back up all my data (about 100 GB worth) using Dupplica, including files up to 20 GB in size.  The software had trouble backing up some files in my AppData folder, and displayed the message “2 files left to backup.”  It was odd, because I didn’t have AppData selected in my backup set.  Regardless, it didn’t affect the rest of my backup – and the message went away when I restarted the software.

Dupplica status screen

The Dupplica status screen.

As far as restoring files, Dupplica lets you do so using the software or the web interface.  Restoring my files using the desktop software was an easy experience.  All I had to do was right click on the folder I wanted to restore, then click Restore.  You can also press Ctrl+R to restore a file or folder.

Restoring a folder in Dupplica

Restoring a folder in Dupplica.

I tested my restored files against the originals with a cyclic redundancy check, which they passed without any errors.

Dupplica keeps previous versions of files and deleted files for 30 days on their servers.

Speed

On average, Dupplica backed up my files at 4 megabits per second (Mbps).  That’s about 40 gigabytes per day.  At times, it was able to max out my upload speed at 8 Mbps.  Other times, it was as slow as 1 Mbps, so it was fairly inconsistent.

The download speed was much better, around 27 Mbps on average.  I was able to restore my entire 100 GB hard drive in about 8 hours.

Mobile Apps

I couldn’t find Dupplica’s mobile apps at first.  It turns out they’re listed under a different name, “Open Access.”  There are links to the apps in Dupplica’s quick start guide.

I tested the apps on Android and iOS and was impressed in both cases.  I could download my backed up files, view photos and videos, and play slideshows.  The apps even categorize music by artist, album, year, etc.  Keep in mind this is not with the Sync add-on, this is just with Dupplica’s $2/month backup-only plan.  Dupplica’s mobile apps provide features that are typically only seen on high-priced cloud storage services.

Dupplica encrypts all transfers between their servers and the mobile apps with SSL.

Security

Dupplica uses the same security as Livedrive, and encrypts all files using military grade AES-256.  Files are also transferred over an encrypted SSL channel.  There is an option to disable this in the settings, although I’m not sure why you’d want to.

Even though Dupplica encrypts files, it doesn’t offer the ability to use a personal encryption key.  So you must trust Dupplica to safeguard your encryption key.

Support

Dupplica offers email support, and says all queries are answered within 24 hours.  I contacted them and was responded to quickly, in less than 24 hours.

Conclusion – Who should use Dupplica?

I was impressed with Dupplica’s ease of use.  It didn’t overwhelm me with features or settings, so backing up my data was a straightforward process.  The price is great, at only $2/month for 1 computer, or $3/month for 10 computers.

On the downside, Dupplica is a smaller online backup service, so there’s not a lot of feedback on it.  I’m not sure how well it would stand up to heavy usage (over 100 GB of data), but it performed well for what I threw at it.

Anyone who wants unlimited online backup at a fantastic price should give Dupplica a try.

More Screenshots

Update Feb. 2016: Corrected NAS and sync add-on pricing.

Specifications

Product Name Dupplica
Version 1.14.31.0
Operating Systems WindowMac
Storage Unlimited
Monthly Price $2
Average Upload Speed 4 Mbps (7.5 Mbps connection)
Average Download Speed 27 Mbps (30 Mbps connection)

General Features

Free Trial yes
Free Online Storage no
Mobile Apps Android, iOS
Bandwidth Controls no
NAS Support yes

Backup Features

File Versioning yes
Keep Deleted Files 30 Days
Back Up to Local Drive no

Sync and Share Features

File Sync yes
Selective Sync null
Public File Sharing no
Collaborative Invites yes

Security

Encrypted Storage yes
Encrypted Transfer yes
Personal Encryption no
Zero-knowledge Encryption no
Two-factor Authentication no

Support

Phone Support no
Email Support yes
24/7 Support no
Live Chat no

Infrastructure

Data Center Location(s) London, England (3 data centers)

Geoff Akerlund

Geoff Akerlund

Geoff Akerlund is the founder and editor-in-chief of BackupReview.com. He is a cloud fanatic and regularly reviews online backup services. He believes backups should be easy, affordable, and automatic.

Geoff Akerlund

@backupsoftware

Reviews and ratings of the most popular backup solutions

@FabacusSuite Just noticed your tweet! I’m not aware of any cloud storage needs specific to manufacturing. I’m open to insight/suggestions. – 12 months ago

 
  • janni Benda

    For my use. Dupplica is the best choice.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • We use the business backup plan https://www.dupplica.com/business
    , Expensive but works great. We trashed our NAS file server, when it went kaput. Now we use the team folders and works seamlessly across all our smart phones and nodes.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • tack

    Testing the free version for the moment, seems unbeatable when in europe. For upload speed I maanged to go up to 20 MB/s (160 Mbits/s) which is near my max speed (25MB/s), on average 5MB/s. On crahsplan and blackblaze that are located in the us, max is 200 kB/s… The only thing is as you said it is for the moment difficult to trust them, they are not well known.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • That is very fast! Thanks for the info.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Arjen

      I’m in Europe as well (Netherlands) and my average upload speed to Dupplica is 1 MB/s.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • tack

      Finally after 1 year of use, seems the service is shutting down… I am unable to log in since 1 week, and when I sent a mail to the support they told me they have “techical problems, and that I can get a refund…They also advised to use a competitor…

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Nick Fletcher

        I have had the same problem. It looks as if I have lost GBs of data. They are being unhelpful and quite rude. They can’t say when or if any data will be found. This service can not be recommended any more, if Geoff Akerlund wants to see the email trail I would be happy to show him

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • I’ve asked them to clarify what’s going on. I will update when I get a response.

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • Nick Fletcher

            Thank you

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • So they got back to me with a very vague answer. They said they are having “issues” and are “in a questionable situation and not fully functional.” I’m going to add a warning to this page. This is not a service I would trust with my data in light of these problems.

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • Zasso

            Hi,
            I signed for the 30 days trial just a couple of days ago and it seems everything is working fine.
            Do you know if they still have problems?
            Do you still not recommend the service (because I didn’t see any warning in the post)?
            Thanks

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • Denis Gobbi

            I’m having the same problem with them, I’m afraid they are shutting down the whole service.

            The only valid alternative seems to be backblaze, unfortunately it is also more expensive .

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • mickey

    I don’t see any reasons why not to trust Dupplica. They’re basically just a Livedrive reseller with a $2 price tag. I know this for sure, because I’ve worked for another Livedrive reseller providing the exact same software, plan features, and dashboard 🙂

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Unbeatable price for the security and upload speed.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • kynao

    We miss feature capability “storage can be mounted as a drive”

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • janni Benda

      Actually this is used with another feature called Sync Folder , which mounts as a drive on Windows or OS X : https://www.dupplica.com/kb-syncfolder
      But the 500 giga drive costs $69 / Year.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • kenny b

    If anyone is considering dupplica, I have used them for over a year and it’s been good. The bad part is that the login page https certificate expired! Now, if I try to log in, it takes me to an unsecure http page. This is not good!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Thanks for the comment Kenny. As I mentioned at the top of my review, Dupplica is having unknown problems with their service at the moment. I don’t recommend anyone sign up at this time.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kamen Philip

    I’ve been using their service for almost an year and it’s generally working fine. The prices are indeed unbeatable, Dupplica gives exactly what they offer but I must say their support is virtually non-existent. At some point I had problems with the Windows client (some files refused to backup for some reason), so I wrote the support a couple of times and nobody answered. Recently I restored my Windows from a backup image and after installing Dupplica client it detected my computer as a new one and started backing it up from scratch, although it was the same PC with the same backup folders. Now I have two identical backups and when I tried to delete the old one it said that I need to contact the support to do that. Guess what – I wrote them and nobody replied again. It’s not so big deal, since the backup space is unlimited but I really hate the idea that everything is left unattended to the machines and nobody cares if something goes wrong.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kamen Philip

    An update from Oct 6th, 2016: Dupplica client refused to login, claiming my password is wrong. I tried also to login from the website and there was a login problem too. Also, some pages show warning that the website certificate has expired (not a good sign). I tried to reset my password but the website said my account (email) doesn’t exist, which was really unexpected! I will wait for a week to see if someone fixes anything, but I think it’s time to accept that Dupplica service effectively dead!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Richard B. Smith

    Serious issues. I am having the same problem as many others. They don’t respond to emails. Cannot login, cannot reset password. DO NOT USE DUPPLICA AT THIS TIME.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Doc

    Hi. Been having the same issues with Dupplica. I paid for the one year subscription and it’s not working anymore. I can’t even log into my account. It actually says my account does not exist. I have tried to contact them several times but no response. I would recommend everyone stay away from DUPPLICA. Looks like it is time to find another company. However, what will happen to our files and information that they have been backing up?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alexander Karmyshov

    Duppica project seems to have been gone forever. My account stopped working few month ago. I’ve got a reply from technical team: “We are so sorry for the inconvenience and are afraid we ran in to some heavy technical issues which might take a while to handle. We do not want to keep you hanging and advice you to send us any requests of refund for the months left, with the receipt of payment by the 15th of June.

    ….
    We can now recommend using the iDrive Online Backup which offers great pricing for the security and most important, Stability for your computer and great support.”

    It’s a really good recomendation for all of us to look forward another backup projects. However Dupplica site still working, my be there’s nothing behind main frontend site.
    Finally i am thinking Dupplica have shared some capacities in datacenter but still not able to keep all data as they advertized.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Kamen Philip

      Dupplica are simply LiveDrive resellers. What I suspect is that LiveDrive has suspended their account and now they are unable even to log users in. It is not the first time when such thing happens, many resellers and retail customers complain about account termination. I’d stay away from LiveDrive for this reason.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)