Degoo Review: 100 GB of Free Cloud Backup

Degoo is a new online backup service that offers an unprecedented 100 GB of free cloud storage. Degoo claims to be completely secure, reliable, and easy to use. Is this the perfect cloud backup service? I’ll take a look at it in this review.

Degoo logo

Editor's Choice 2016

Editor's Rating:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rate It Now
User Rating:
Rating: 4.0/5 (71 votes cast)

Pros

  • 100 GB free online backup (matched by SurDoc for most free space)
  • Gain up to 500 GB by referring friends
  • Simple; desktop software is easy to set up and use
  • Excellent Android backup app
  • Keeps deleted files for 14 days (60 days with paid accounts)
  • Fast upload and download speeds
  • File compression saves time when uploading

Cons

  • No file versioning
  • No iOS app
  • Single device limit with free account
  • No personal encryption option

The Bottom Line

Degoo puts other cloud backup services to shame. It’s easily one of the best free backup services, with simple software and an industry-leading 100 GB of free storage space. On the downside, there’s no file versioning or iPhone app.

Signing up for Degoo

I created a free account on Degoo’s website, and was immediately offered to download the software for Windows. There is no personal information to enter and no hoops to jump through. Degoo is all about making backups as easy as possible. It also lets you sign up using a Google account, so you don’t need to create a separate account and password.

Desktop Software Performance

Degoo’s Windows software follows the website’s minimalist style. It’s similar to Dropbox, in that it removes all non-essential features. There is a tab for backup, a tab for recovery, and a tab for preferences.

Choose folders to back up to Degoo

To add a folder to your backup, you can click a button or drag and drop it onto the window. I added several of my Windows user folders like Documents and Videos, as well as 90 GB of test files. Overall, it was a very easy process. Degoo backs up files every 24 hours, although you can manually start it from the software.

Degoo main screen

Network attached storage (NAS) backup is supported, by adding the network drive’s folder just like any other. You can also map the network drive and back up folders in that.

You can choose where to save the recovered files, but the folder must be empty. There is a guide on their website for how to recover files.

Degoo recovery screen

I was able to restore my files with just a few clicks of my mouse. I also ran the files through a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), to ensure the restored files matched the originals, which they did.

Preferences

The preferences tab shows how much space in your account is being used, and which computers are linked to the account. There are options to unlink the computer, and a “Clean Up” button that empties the deleted files folder.

Degoo preferences

There is a checkbox to gain more space by sharing unused processor time, which turns your computer into a digital currency miner for Litecoins. Since mining programs are considered malware by some antivirus software, I did not enable it. However, this will get you an extra 10 GB if you don’t mind it.

Get up to 500 GB for Referring Friends

Degoo gives you an extra 3 GB per each friend you refer, for a maximum of 500 GB.

Deleted Files and File Versioning

Degoo keeps deleted files for 14 days with free accounts, and 60 days with paid accounts. You can remove deleted files earlier, by pressing the “Clean Up” button in the preferences screen.

There is no file versioning, which is perhaps my biggest complaint about the service. Only the most recently uploaded version of a file can be restored.

Speed

Degoo is fast during backups and restores. My speeds were maxed out during upload, at 13 Mbps (megabits per second). Download speeds averaged around 20 Mbps, with a maximum rate of 62 Mbps which is my ISP’s limit. Overall, I didn’t have any speed problems when using Degoo.

Degoo upload rate

Degoo maxed out my upload rate.

I noticed that Degoo uses extremely efficient compression. Files as large as 10 GB were backed up in a matter of minutes. This not only made for a faster backup, but also saved bandwidth. I could see Degoo being useful for people on limited data plans.

Mobile Apps

Degoo has a mobile app for Android. There’s no iPhone app, but they say one is in development. The Android app is quite popular, with 6,000+ reviews with an average rating of  4.3 out of 5 stars.

After installing the app, I could sign up for a new account or log in with my existing one. Since Degoo ony allows 1 device per account, and I already linked my PC to my account, I signed up with another email to test.

Degoo on Android Select folders to back up on Android

The app asked me which folders I’d like to back up. I could also select custom folders, such as those on an SD card, which is the first time I’ve encountered this in any backup app. The Degoo mobile app will let you back up anything on your phone.

There are settings to:

  • Only back up on Wi-Fi
  • Only back up when charging
  • Keep deleted files in Degoo after they’re deleted from the phone

There is an option to “Optimize Storage” which backs up all the photos on your phone, but shrinks the originals to fit the device’s screen size. Degoo claims users can fit 5 times more photos on their phone, using this option.

Backup complete Degoo on Android

On the downside, media files (such as photos) cannot be viewed within the app. This makes accessing files a bit difficult, since they must be downloaded and opened in other apps.

I also couldn’t open photos with the default Gallery app. It failed with an error: “Unfortunately, Gallery has stopped.”

Gallery crash on Android

Viewing media with the Android app is hit-or-miss.

I could view photos when they were opened in other apps (such as ES Photo Explorer) without any problems.

Security

Degoo uses 128-bit AES to encrypt files, so it is very secure. They additionally encrypt all server communications using TLS, which ensures your privacy when accessing your files through their software.

There is no option to use a personal encryption key or passphrase, so this isn’t an NSA-proof backup service. Degoo still controls the encryption keys.

Degoo claims to store multiple copies of files in reliable data centers, but they’re a bit light on specifics here. I confirmed with CEO Carl Hasselskog that they use a combination of Amazon S3 and Google Cloud Storage for their infrastructure. Data centers are located in Northern Virginia and Taiwan (to optimize speed for customers in Southeast Asia).

Plans and Pricing

All paid plans come with a 30 day free trial, which I thought was nice. Degoo also has steep discounts for yearly and 5-year plans.

Free Plan

  • 100 GB
  • Back up 1 device
  • 14 day deleted file recovery

Pro Plan

  • 250 GB
  • $3/month
  • Yearly price: $24 ($2/month)
  • 5-year price: $90 ($1.50/month)
  • Back up 3 devices
  • 60 day deleted file recovery

Ultimate Plan

  • 2,000 GB
  • $9.99/month
  • Yearly price: $95.88 ($7.99/month)
  • 5-year price: $239.40 ($3.99/month)
  • Back up unlimited devices
  • 60 day deleted file recovery

Support

Degoo’s support hours are 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. UTC+8 (that’s 5 p.m. – 1 a.m. PST, if you live on the west coast of the United States like I do). Support is available via email, and there is a phone number listed.

More Screenshots

Specifications

Product Name Degoo
Version 1.0.1563
Operating Systems WindowMac
Storage 2 TB
Monthly Price $9.99
Average Upload Speed 13 Mbps (10 Mbps connection)
Average Download Speed 20 Mbps (50 Mbps connection)

General Features

Free Trial yes
Free Online Storage 100 GB
Mobile Apps Android
Bandwidth Controls no
NAS Support yes

Backup Features

File Versioning no
Keep Deleted Files 14 days for free accounts, 60 days for paid accounts
Back Up to Local Drive no

Sync and Share Features

File Sync no
Selective Sync no
Public File Sharing no
Collaborative Invites no

Security

Encrypted Storage yes
Encrypted Transfer yes
Personal Encryption no
Zero-knowledge Encryption no
Two-factor Authentication no

Support

Phone Support yes
Email Support yes
24/7 Support no
Live Chat no

Infrastructure

Data Center Location(s) Northern Virginia, Taiwan

Geoff Akerlund

Geoff Akerlund

Geoff Akerlund is the founder and editor-in-chief of BackupReview.com. He is a cloud fanatic and regularly reviews online backup services. He believes backups should be easy, affordable, and automatic.

Geoff Akerlund

@backupsoftware

Reviews and ratings of the most popular backup solutions

@FabacusSuite Just noticed your tweet! I’m not aware of any cloud storage needs specific to manufacturing. I’m open to insight/suggestions. – 6 months ago

 
  • any more info about the company? tried googling but nothing substantial comes up. thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mike

    And a question regarding the ability to sync folders. I was using Copy (which is closing down) and loved that I could effectively sync folders on my desktop and laptop, plus have access on mobile and cloud. Can you keep two computers in sync with Degoo?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hi Mike. Degoo cannot sync files between devices. You can access files you’ve uploaded from your computer with your mobile device, but it’s a bit clunky because the files have to be downloaded individually before they can be viewed.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Mike

        Thank you for the information.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • You’re welcome 🙂

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Frmg

    1GB file limit size =(
    I cannot upload my smartphone video files.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Monsteiner

      you can make a zip backup and split in small files

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gabriel Lawrence

    Hi Carl, I’m a little late to the party here, but I was wondering if you can talk more about your special compression? Is this built by degoo? Is there permanent data loss? If I back up my photos can I get them back as they originally were? Thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • FacelessMan

    Hi all.

    First of all I’d like to apologize for having posted here in a hurry, couple days ago – I noticed my post ended up without a referrable author name, which is bad Internetiquette. Coupling that with the post’s contents – which might have looked a bit trollish – it was probably what led to said post having been deleted. [Geoff … ?]

    So here I am again, this time with a more proper userid. I feel my experience with Degoo[f] might serve as a warning to other users (I’m open to replying to whatever comments that ppl post here – I suppose that Disqus will notify me as needed).

    Having said all that, I’ll dare to repost more or less the same content of the deleted post. So pls if Geoff or any reader needs additional clarifications, I’ll be glad to add whatever data I can. I’m sometimes a SLOW replier though …

    So, below there goes again what already was:

    “Heads up:

    I am (or was …) a user of Degoo’s free plan. On Mar 28, 2016 I wrote to them complaining that, under Degoo’s ‘Recovery Window’, only a fraction of a 7Gb folder I had backed up was available for eventual recovery. That was btw the SECOND time I noticed my backup had ‘Degoofed’; on the 1st occurrence, and before complaining, I DELETED the entire folder from Degoo and repeated the whole backup process after re-including it (to be true, the 2nd time the missing portion was larger than the 1st one.)

    On April 7 – i.e., a full week later – I received an email from Gerry Danniel Gonzaga from Degoo Team, stating that “I am very sorry” and “We are looking into this issue.”

    From my perspective, they can keep looking into the issue forever. I’m researching more reliable alternatives – and btw, thx to BackupReview for the various applicable reviews which I’ll take a look into.”

    Cheers

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hi. I don’t see any record of you commenting before this (I don’t delete comments, even trollish ones :), so I’m not sure what happened there. Thanks for taking the time to repost it and share your experience.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Serediuc Alex

    Hi,i have a little question,if i delete the app from pc(beacouse i whant to reinstall my windows and delete all files) i can get my files back?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jr Kinabalu

    so i’ve uploaded some of my folders using deggo windows app but when i opened my account from chrome i checked i have not uploaded any single folder. Is this service a scam?? I wonder.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • I don’t think it’s a scam, but it’s possible you may have encountered a bug.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Petar Stefanov Nikolov

    I have a big problem!!! My computer is infected with crypto virus and all my directories and files are encrypted.

    I rely on your backup but he stands at 1% and does nothing.

    I thought the problem was in paying, but …

    I tried to find where you pay in your program, but I do not see any history of payments or payment module.

    Initially I paid with my credit card for 2 terabytes of backup. But then you automatically you take them every month?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • MILIND PATIL

    I was using Degoo for my important backup. Two days back I had to restore my Windows system.

    I reinstalled the Degoo Window client and tried to restore my Degoo backup; but I am facing big problem.

    The restore stops at 98.49% and thereafter no progress. My internet speed was 20mbps. It reached 98.49% in less than a minuit, but after that it says that it will take more than a day to finish restore.

    I tried their android applicatin and tried to download through it; but same problem.

    I am really gone mad and fade up with this issue.

    These Degoo people do not provide you any other way to download your back ups.

    I am waiting for reply to my email to Carl & Matias.

    let us see if they care.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • just heard about degoo, i think your service might be useful… but only if you provide a web interface (i need to archive stuff, not sync). is there a web interface from where i can upload to your service?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • I don’t work for Degoo (I just run this review site), but I can say they do not have a web interface to upload/download files.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Danielle Pockele

    Hello can i upload my foto’s on my pc and then login on my app to see the Pictures.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Sorry for the late reply, Danielle. As I mentioned in my review, the Degoo mobile app can’t be used to view photos and videos. They must be downloaded before they can be opened in other apps. It was one of my complaints about the service.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • I am trying to install degoo but my any virus avera, avast, and 360 total security keep stopping the download and alarming for Trojan virus. Did you guys faced somthing like that while downloading and installing degoo? is degoo safe ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Same here

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • I responded to a similar comment here. Did you click “Skip” on the “Search Manager” malware when downloading Degoo?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • dyne

    it takes forever to install it. im stuck at 97% whyyyyyyyy

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sindile Mdunge

    Hi Geoff, I started using Degoo over a year ago, so i had been saving my files on it. 2 days ago when i opened it they asked me to sign in which i did using my gmail account.But upon signing in i realized that i had no files which means the files i had been saving for the past year have disappeared. How do i recover my files? Please assist.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pedro Henrique Branco

    Error when I install it. 🙁

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • The backup is unreliable. I had tried using 1 account for both my Android and PC backup. It is acceptable to Degoo can use 2 devices with one account. My upload speed is turtle slow. 5Gb takes nearly 4.5 hours to upload and my PC 70Gb upload will take until tomorrow to finish (as Deggo notification) and whe I checked my Android backup up there were missing files from my “Pictures/Video” folders although it has “100% uploaded” files. And it is not user friendly. You cannot do “move”, “rename” ect on the backup itself. I have decided to uninstall and use my current reliable cloud from “Mail.ru Cloud” “MEGA Cloud,New Zealand”,I can do the backup and selective Sync as edit the files as much as I want. If you are lucky you will also get 100Gb free from Mail.ru. Its only sounds tempting to have 100Gb free storage but is really useless as a reliable backup cloud.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Danish

    Hello,
    I backup some files from mobile phone on Degoo and the backup completed quickly of 5GB. However, when i login into my account through laptop, i am not finding my data, how could i find my data on degoo ?. phone : 00447479002636

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)