MEGA Review: 50 GB of Free Cloud Storage and Bulletproof Security

MEGA is not your typical cloud storage service.  That is, unless your typical cloud storage service is anti-government, pro-privacy, and founded in the wake of the largest file sharing shutdown in history.

MEGA’s founder, Kim Dotcom, is not known to shy away from publicity.  In the aftermath of Megaupload’s shutdown for copyright infringement, Dotcom has openly criticized world leaders for their stances on privacy and free speech.  For their part, governments have spied on him, raided his property, and seized his assets.  The U.S. government calls him a criminal.  His fans call him a hero.  One could argue Kim Dotcom’s reputation precedes MEGA’s.  Regardless, his new brand of file hosting service remains popular.  MEGA counts over 7 million users to its name.

So is MEGA a cloud storage service you should use?  Can you trust it to backup your data online?  I will take a look at how it performs in this review.

MEGA logo

Editor's Rating:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rate It Now
User Rating:
Rating: 4.3/5 (453 votes cast)

Pros

  • 50GB free cloud storage
  • Synchronize folders on your PC
  • Great mobile apps
  • Completely private encryption
  • Attractive, useful web interface
  • File versioning
  • Deleted file recovery

Cons

  • Windows only sync client
  • Security features aren’t as newbie friendly as other cloud storage services
  • Doesn’t transcode shared videos

The Bottom Line

MEGA provides a completely private cloud storage experience, combined with easy to use features and great looking apps.

MEGA Plans and Pricing

MEGA offers several plans to choose from:

Free Plan

  • 50GB storage
  • 10GB bandwidth limit, reset every 30 minutes

Pro I

  • 9.99 € (about $13.50 USD) per month.  Or 99.99 € per year (save 17%).
  • 500GB storage
  • 1TB monthly bandwidth limit

Pro II

  • 19.99 € (about $27 USD) per month.  Or 199.99 € per year (save 17%).
  • 2TB storage
  • 4TB monthly bandwidth limit

Pro III

  • 29.99 € (about $40 USD) per month.  Or 299.99 € per year (save 17%).
  • 4TB storage
  • 8TB monthly bandwidth limit

If you pay for the annual plan, the bandwidth limits are multiplied for the entire year.  So sign up for a yearly Pro I plan, and get 12TB of total bandwidth (1TB x 12 months).

First Impressions of MEGA

When you sign up, MEGA will tell you how easily your password is brute forced.  I liked this, because most people don’t put enough effort into creating strong passwords.

The MEGA web interface is where you can manage your account and stored files.  The tabs include:

  • Cloud Drive: Where all your files are stored.
  • Rubbish Bin: Your deleted files are kept here.
  • Contacts: Add emails of people you want to share files with.
  • Inbox: I still don’t know what this is for.  To get messages from people you’ve shared with, I guess?  I couldn’t get any messages to show up here.
The MEGA cloud drive

The MEGA web interface.

The MEGA Sync Client

The MEGA sync client can synchronize files and folders on your PC with your MEGA account.  This is kind of like Dropbox and other cloud storage services which put a virtual drive on your computer.  The difference is that MEGA lets you choose which folders to sync.  So you can have a “Pictures” folder on your hard drive that syncs to a “Pictures” folder in your MEGA account.  You’re not limited to just one folder; you can sync as many as you want.

Network drives can also be added, so you can sync folders on a NAS device.

The sync client is only available for Windows, so Mac and Linux users are out of luck.  Update Sept 2014: Mac and Linux are now supported.

Sharing Files and Folders

You can share files publicly, which would not require a MEGA account to view.  This is good for files you don’t care too much about, security wise.

For private files, you can grant access to other MEGA users.  Shared folders can bet set as read-only, read & write, or full access.  You can set permissions on a per individual basis.  So if you want Fred to have read-only access to a folder, but Mary to have full access, you can do so.  Both parties need to have a MEGA account for security.  Since MEGA offers free accounts, this is a great way to share files with friends and family.

MEGA file sharing

Sharing a folder in MEGA.

Shared folders with pictures in them will be converted to photo galleries, so your recipient can easily view them.  Videos are not viewable on the web, however.  You have to download them, which I thought was a bit of a bummer.  Other cloud storage services can transcode videos.  Not MEGA, apparently.

If you no longer want to share a folder, you can turn off the public link in the Sharing menu.

Restore Deleted and Changed Files

Deleted files will show up in your Rubbish Bin.  Restoring a deleted file is easy.  Just navigate to it using the folders organized by date, right click on it, then restore it.

MEGA lets you recover previous versions of files.  However, it does not perform incremental file versioning.  So if a synced file changes, it is replaced as a whole.  It is not recommended to sync large, constantly changing files for this reason.

Regardless, you can restore previous versions of files by right clicking on them and downloading them to your computer.  It’s not perfect, but it works.

MEGA Speed

MEGA is very, very fast when uploading and downloading files.

My upload speeds to MEGA averaged 7.8 megabits per second (Mbps), which maxed out my bandwidth.  So potential speeds could be even higher.

As far as restore speeds, I downloaded a 10GB test file at 27.3 Mbps, which was just short of my 31 Mbps maximum.

MEGA Mobile Apps

MEGA has mobile apps for Android, iOS, and Blackberry.

I felt the Android app was polished and easy to use.  With it, I could access my cloud files, upload files, move files, and create share links.  It does everything the web interface does.

There’s a photo sync feature to automatically backup photos on your phone.  A PIN unlock setting adds an additional layer of security, by requiring a passcode before opening the app.

MEGA also has apps for Chrome and Firefox, which are supposed to be faster than using the default web interface.  I tested the Chrome app and it was definitely better than using the default web interface.  Using the app resolved an issue where large files (many gigabytes in size) failed to download.  So I highly recommend you use it, especially if you’re working with large files.

MEGA Security

When you’re storing data in the cloud, security is extremely important.  After all, you don’t want hackers or government agencies to have access to your data.  Only you should have access to your files.

MEGA uses above-average security measures to protect your data.  They’re as paranoid about the NSA as you are.

All data stored on MEGA is encrypted end to end.  Data is only decrypted once it’s on the receiving device (i.e. your computer).  MEGA stores your data encrypted at all times, and never has access to your decrypted data.

Your password unlocks your master encryption key.  Without it, you can’t view your data.  You can reset your password, but this requires a copy of your encryption key (which you can download as a backup).

Who Should Use MEGA?

Anybody who is paranoid about security and needs to store large amounts of data in the cloud would be well served by MEGA.  Their policy of end to end encryption – making it impossible for MEGA to view your data (even if they wanted to) is a step above other cloud storage services.

On the downside, there’s no sync client for Mac or Linux users.  You’re also out of luck if you forget your password, so this service isn’t ideal for beginners.

As far as performance, I was really impressed with the quality of the web interface.  Downloading and uploading files is essentially effortless.  Speeds are fast.  You can give custom permissions to shared folders, and it’s all very easy to use.

Since MEGA offers a whopping 50GB of free cloud storage space, you should definitely it a try.

More Screenshots

Specifications

Product Name MEGA
Version 1.0.22
Operating Systems WindowMacLinux
Storage 500 GB
Monthly Price $13.50
Average Upload Speed 7.8 Mbps (8 Mbps connection)
Average Download Speed 27.3 Mbps (30 Mbps connection)

General Features

Free Trial yes
Free Online Storage 50 GB
Mobile Apps Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry
Bandwidth Controls yes
NAS Support yes

Backup Features

File Versioning yes
Keep Deleted Files Forever
Back Up to Local Drive no

Sync and Share Features

File Sync yes
Selective Sync yes
Public File Sharing yes
Collaborative Invites yes

Security

Encrypted Storage yes
Encrypted Transfer yes
Personal Encryption yes
Zero-knowledge Encryption yes
Two-factor Authentication no

Support

Phone Support no
Email Support yes
24/7 Support no
Live Chat no

Infrastructure

Data Center Location(s) New Zealand

Geoff Akerlund

Geoff Akerlund

Geoff Akerlund is the founder and editor-in-chief of BackupReview.com. He is a cloud fanatic and regularly reviews online backup services. He believes backups should be easy, affordable, and automatic.

Geoff Akerlund

@backupsoftware

Reviews and ratings of the most popular backup solutions

@FabacusSuite Just noticed your tweet! I’m not aware of any cloud storage needs specific to manufacturing. I’m open to insight/suggestions. – 6 months ago

 
  • McVries

    Nowadays a Linux client is available!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Nice! Thanks for the heads up.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Alan Shore

    Hey hey, a Mac client is there too now. And Android, IOS and even Blackberry (???) clients are available. Looks like Kim has been programming lately 🙂

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Kharizmah S

      Mega on iOS is crap. All the folders are named BLANK it makes it hard to find your stuff. I have 5s

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • sang heon BAIK

    I live in korea and I have used free plan(50GB) of their service.

    But recently,I only got 50~200kb/s speedswhen I tried to upload some large size file to MEGA.

    Is it just me or Do They capped upload bandwidth on their free service in order to offer more powerful support on fees charged service?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • I just tried to upload a 5GB file and got 50-80 kb/s average, so that seems to be the case. It wouldn’t surprise me if they put caps on the free service to prioritize paid accounts.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Ryan

      Mega doesn’t cap speeds, if your connection speeds are going slow, make sure you’re using the latest version of Firefox or Chrome and you’re using the latest version of the Mega addons for those browsers.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Okay, I just installed the Chrome app. Speeds are greatly improved, about 700 kb/s.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tharizden

    Any chance of a app for WindowsPhone 8 – 8.1? Can’t understand why everything is limited to iOs & Android, and even including BB. 🙁

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Ernesto Manríquez

      BlackBerry is not included. It’s just the same Android app, repackaged for BlackBerry 10, since BlackBerry 10 can run unmodified Android apps.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Gnu

    I just installed it all on my Arch Linux desktop, and my Android phone. It just works. Very impressed with this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Desmond Ho

    this cloud storage quite good but when you lost password you cant recovery !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kharizmah S

    If it wasn’t for the cost I’d say DropBox all the way! It’s seamless whether you are on a Mac, iOS device, or PC. They have excellent customer service. I used to pay for 100GB. I have since switched to using Multiple clients to try an achieve the singular quality of DropBox for free, I tried Google Drive which is cheaper but slow. There’s no guarantee my stuff is at the other end unless I go online and sometimes it takes so long it’s still sitting on one PC (unless it’s Pictures or documents). Currently, I’m using Google Drive for photos only. (But I may need to also use them for PDF and documents). I’m slowly transferring some things from Mega to SurDoc. Mega was nice until I tried using it on my iPhone. The iOS app is flawed. All the folders are named “BLANK”

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Adam Jay

      Check out the iOS app called AirFile, it allows you to manage multiple clouds from one interface. I have 326GB managed there across 12 free cloud accounts. Each cloud is titled as a folder (like in Windows Explorer or MacOS Finder). My 20GB Copy.com clouds are titled “Photos” and “Videos”, my google drives are “Business”, OneDrive accounts are “Documents” and “Design Files”, Adrive is “Music”, etc.
      Best of all, I can manage and be connected to multiple accounts from the same cloud company, i.e. two different Dropbox accounts that I can move files between. The AirFile app is $5, but totally worth it when you get 326GB free.

      Also consider Flickr for photos, especially instant photo backup. 1TB for free, it uploads originals’ resolutions, and the iOS app has received a quality update and is more usable than ever.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • 326GB…you deserve some sort of award.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • Adam Jay

          All that free cloud space is award enough. I should just spring the $10/month for a 1TB Dropbox account, now that the price has come down. It would be far simpler to manage and stay sync’d. But for people on a tight budget (I’m saving for a wedding), a few hours to set these various clouds up and manage them with AirFile is saving me some considerable money. Here’s an AirFile screenshot:

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • Nice. I’m a new iPhone user so I will be sure to check it out.

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mega is not a backup, its a storage solution as like dropbox

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Shuresh,

      Although there are differences between “backup” and “storage” services, both Dropbox and MEGA let users recover files (including previous versions of files) in the event of hard drive data loss. I would say that classifies them as backup solutions. Please see my article: How to restore files in Dropbox for more info.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • apple3

        I set a folder to sync to googledrive thinking this was as good as a backup. However somehow all my files ended up corrupted. The corruption synced to my laptop and I was unable to recover anything……that is the difference between backup and storage/sync services.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • apple3 that is very unfortunate. Sorry to hear you lost files! You can actually recover previous versions of files in Google Drive, but it’s a bit clunky, and you have to recover each file individually. Here’s the tutorial: View and manage file versions. I hope that helps.

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Andrew Nashashibi, MD

    By far, the worst service I ve ever come across.

    I lost my password, and guess what? You cannot retrieve your password! Which means, your
    files are “in their cloud” yet you will NEVER be able to access them, and
    simply because “you lost your password”!

    Based on their support, arguing that even online banking doesn’t impose such “unreasonable”
    policy, they had the following to say:

    “If we could just reset your password whenever we like, then that means we can reset your password, log into your account and look at what you’ve uploaded.”

    So, if you sign up with Mega, upload your files to their cloud, and heaven forbid you lose your password, you are as screwed as having a damaged and unrecoverable hard disk!

    It is the whole reason for having a cloud service!

    And their “secured” method NOT to lose your password and prevent unauthorized users is to”… If you think you’ll forget your password, all you need to do is write it down on a piece of paper and put it somewhere”, based on an email from their support.

    NO, THANK YOU MEGA! I’d rather pay more and take my business to a “reasonable” cloud service!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Ken Logon

      Your comments indicate you really don’t understand the nature of the service.

      The whole idea of their service is that they have no access to your data, so yes allowing them to access your account in any way (including a password reset) would defeat the whole purpose of their service. Using any cloud service, you should ALWAYS be syncing your files locally as well and maintain local backups, never relying on the “cloud” as the main source of your data…cloud storage should always just be considered a backup (do you really trust all your data to *a public server on the Internet*, which all the term “cloud” really means, anyway??).

      However, the REAL problem is that their syncing is buggy and will delete your file! So stay the hell away from Mega anyway… See my post above. 🙂

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
      • Dani Kaye

        Thanks for this posting, Ken Logon. I’m using Mega as a security backup for my novels and not trying any extra bells and whistles. I WAS thinking of syncing, but after reading this string I’m going to stick to manual uploads instead. Beholden to you. 🙂

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • johnny

      2 years late to the conversation but I highly advise you to read on about ZERO KNOWLEDGE PRIVACY & services that offer this!!!

      You must understand that in order for a Joe with mustard on his t-shirt to not be able to sift through your personal photos, a private encryption key, that ONLY YOU HAVE written down, is a must!!!

      SPIDEROAK also enforces this service;
      The guys @ Backblaze also do…

      What do you want, in the end?
      1. Someone to be able to access ALL OF your stuff?

      or
      2. total privacy with the cost of not being able to get your data back?

      I’d choose the 2nd option. Store your password in Lastpass vault or a similar service.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • jason

    The 10GB monthly bandwidth limit on free accounts absolutely sucks if you’re uploading files to share with others like most of us are. Better to go with Copy.com who doesn’t have a bandwidth limit. You can earn 50gb+ with their referral program easily. They give you a generous 5gb for each new person you sign up under your link.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • piecevcake

      I have 6gb file backed up to copy. It tells me I have used 19 gb. I’ve checked the files they are wrong. Messaged – no reply… NOT recommended. +uploaded 120 kbps. then “error t syncing with cloud. Storage limit reached”

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Ken Logon

    ** WARNING: MEGA SYNC WILL CAUSE RANDOM LOSS OF DATA / DELETION OF FILES WHEN SYNCING BETWEEN MULTIPLE COMPUTERS !!! — Do NOT use the Mega Sync client if you value your data !!! *** I feel compelled to warn others against this product, after spending ~6 months troubleshooting with Javier in tech support (also note, they are severely understaffed with a 1-2 person support/development team, as far as I can tell, so sluggish response from support is the norm). Note this has nothing to do with my installation/configuration, as i have installed on many different computers, OSes, and “clean” fresh Windows 7-8 installs by this point, all with the same bugs, from about version 1.3.0 or earlier up through the most recent 1.0.35a in December 2014 (1.0.36 is the most current on their website as I write this, but as the sync issues haven’t been fixed in 10-20 revisions I’ve been through with them already, I have no reason to believe any of these bugs have been fixed the most recent minor update either).

    After countless updates / “bug fixes” due to my feedback where the various syncing bugs were acknowledged, I quickly uninstalled Mega 1.0.35a from ALL my computers in a panic in mid-Dec 2014 after it deleted about 5,000+ of my photos (v1.0.35a). This was after both computers were in “sync” and stable for a long time. I made the “mistake” of trusting Mega sync to behave when I dragged about 50 folders from a non-synced folder into the synced folder, only to notice 2 weeks later it systemically went through and left me EMPTY folders, deleting the entire contents of all these folders!! Worse, there is no sign of them in their online “Rubbish” bin or the local “Rubbish” subfolders, as rather than initially syncing them, it simply deleted them, therefore never backing them up to the cloud or moving them to the deleted files archive! Unbelievable.

    There are MAJOR bugs in their syncing algorithm, and I strongly encourage you to stay far away from this product. I am about to open a support incident to see if there’s any way to recover all my lost data, but I really don’t have time to mess with this buggy product anymore. This was the last straw. If you need reliable syncing and don’t want to lose data, do NOT use Mega Sync, no matter how much data or encryption they promise. A sync product that deletes data is NOT a sync product and should not be used !!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Wow! Thanks for the comment Ken. That would certainly scare me away from using their sync client.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Ken Logon

        NP Geoff. Yes, it’s buggy as hell. Steer clear. 🙂

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • Loes

          Thank you for sharing Ken. Bugger. I was really starting to like this cloud service…

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • Petit Raphaels

            Nothing for free my friends, you get what you pay for.
            in other words if you paid no one would of sacrificed your worthless files for space

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • Ernesto Manríquez

            MEGAsync 2 has been released. Let’s hope all of those bugs have been crushed.

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
          • Tiro Pita

            still buggy as hell! asdasdasda

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Jeňa Kočí

      Had similar issues with Copy, although not in this extent. Since Copy is shutting down in may I’m looking for an alternative. I’ve narrowed it down to Mega vs. Yandex, your info might help in my decision, thanks!

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Guest

    Hey Geoff

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • As much as I love using Mega, it is irritating when it comes to use the app in smartphone (I’m using android). It takes like ages just to show me with the interface. It seems that there are so many works required before the app opens. I dont know, perhaps it was due to its complicated security measures as claim by K. In my case, mostly time is spent just to see this notification “calculating encryption keys” with circular loading sign rounding and rounding everytime I open Mega. Great security at the expense of poor loading time.

    Btw, have you tried Cloud.mail.ru and Yandex, those are Russian based. I think you need to have a look on them and make a review. Cloud.mail.ru with whooping 100GB free and Yandex with 10 GB free . They are similar with MEGA to me, but I can’t tell more in terms of technical capability, you’re better for such thing I gues. I had tried both of them. They offer sync service for smartphone, laptop and browser. I used yandex for laptop, since Cloud.mail only operates in mac os 10.7+ . One more thing, installing Cloud.mail is a bit tricky since all interface was in Russia, thank to google translate to do that.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Thanks for the comment, Hamzah. I haven’t tried those services. I can see how the language barrier would make them tricky to use. 100GB sounds great though.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Reiner Himmel

      Hi, thanks for the lines here. I actually use YandexDisc. It is in English )).

      I use also DropBox, Google, amazon and One Drive storages. I can say that Yandex is much much better than most of storages I mentioned. I use Yandex on my android phone and iPAD as well as PC. While there are constant problems with Google and especially Amazon and OneDrive sync (some files are easy to lose), Yandex do a great job – no problem at all. Importantly, Yandex has even a button so that you could watch a file offline, maintaining the same files structure as they are in initial folder – this is crucial for IPAD. Where most of the files a bit disorganized. And this is important if you have many files different formats but in one folder. This option is present only in DropBox, while One Drive and Google requires to download the file to an app and than open it and only after it stored for offline.

      Support in Yandex is amazing – they respond in English within a day. And gave me for my birthday 200 GB for free forever (actually they wrote that they had buggs issue and 200 GB is a compensation, but I did not notice anything- but some ppl complained in internet )))

      In addition Yandex gives many features – email, calendar, music – yes! stream music for free.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Clare Nicole Wood

    IMHO 50GB free storage makes the drawbacks seem trivial. That is the best deal you will get if you don’t want spied on. I was looking up different clouds last night and found a cloud service based in China that offers 365GB free space. Apparently this is normal in China, so long as you dont mind the government there spying on your stuff 🙂

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Justin Hardin

      Whats the link to the Chinese cloud service?

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Igida Igi

    I installed MEGA about two weeks ago ago. I started actually use it few days ago. I’m trying to back up my photos (it seems like I shouldn’t do it, according to comments). All that process appears to be so slow. My PC is working all day long and for three days allready and I haven’t trensvered about 25 GB of material yet… So I have to shut down my comp, when I go to sleep. And tomorrow when I continue, it is making duplicates of folders along with files in them. You don’t have idea how much time I spend to erase all of doubles. What am I doing wrong? How can I stop upload and then oder day continue? Thanks for advice.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Timothy K. Ready

    Total garbage. You can tell the writer of this story has been paid by the company. Files WILL NOT DL to even your own computer from the cloud. Totally useless. Thank god I didn’t put valuable stuff on their shit servers.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • I’m not a company mouthpiece, and the opinions expressed are my own. You had a bad experience. I didn’t.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Carsten

    If you have your own server or a host that allows for cloud software, then take a look at Owncloud: http://owncloud.org/

    Cross platform and apps for mobile, works pretty good 🙂

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • nebulaoperator

    Thanks but no thanks MEGA

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Helen

      I have that stupid app

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Bob

    If you want 512GB of free space, check out http://www.unlimitedonlinebackup.net

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Anna

    Hi I just want to ask about retrieving a password.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Unfortunately, if you forgot your password, and you don’t have a backup of your master key, then your data is gone. This is by design.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jasper Teunissen

    The 10GB bandwidth limit on free accounts isn’t right. My free account says that these 10GB are resetted every 30 minutes, instead of every month.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hi Jasper. Thanks for the correction. I’ve updated this.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Elman

    Multiple file sync is the best thing with Mega. You don’t have to move any files on your computer. Just right click and add to Mega. Is there any other cloud service like that? Because Mega is quite expensive.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Yes, there are other services that will sync any folder on your hard drive. Syncplicity, Box, and SugarSync are a few that I know of. Boxifier will let you sync any folder with Dropbox.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Joseph Villa

    I really wish they would update for ios more. It supports MP3 for android but, not for ios. It would be really nice if it did.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Helen

      It’s really terrible on iOs. You/’d better not to try this one

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • I’m having serious problems with MEGA on security issues. I had important files within the MEGA and they disappeared. I am in contact with MEGA support for over a month and I can not get my files back. My last contact with the company, they restored my folders but there is nothing in them so it is not a reliable service. It is the tip!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Thanks for the comment Graciolli.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Keith

    Hi, I’d just like to ask if MEGA is recommendable for storing personal files (such as photos and videos). I’ve read reviews about MEGA losing some parts of your data (especially if it’s almost the same file uploaded by another user), but does it happen to personal files as well? I might sound so ignorant about all these stuff LOL, I’m not so techie and all, so, thanks in advance.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hi Keith. MEGA is not a service for non-techies. In that case I would recommend something like Dropbox. MEGA claims they do not deduplicate files between users, only on a per-user basis, so there shouldn’t be any issues with losing files that are the same as other users.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Aphiz Niyi

    pls stay away from mega i just lost over 100gb of files from my desktop. this mega sync is the worst ever. i have lost all my life work. just cos this app.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Johnny Rosenberg

      Why is it important to you that I stay away from it?
      I understand that you stay away from it, since you had problems with it, but I didn’t, and if I did it wouldn’t in any way be your problem.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Michael Bæk

      Sync is not backup. You lost your files because you didn’t backup.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • johnny

      Concept of MIRRORING versus CLOUD STORAGE

      You mirrored your files also known as sync and when you deleted them from the HDD, the cloud also deleted them (it mirrored your actions)

      Be very careful when dealing with SYNC vs STORAGE.
      After synching files to cloud, uncheck the folders to be synched….. so that they remain on the server.
      Each service has this type of option

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Helen

    I really hate this iOS app. It takes many time to register and confirm. I keep doing this stupid step but i doesn’t work. It’s very easy on PC/laptop but it’s truly terrible on smartphone. You know what it feels like when you download a e-book and it take the whole night to deal with this issue T____T Pls make it easier to use.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ulticomp

    I would like to set a family photo and video sharing account where most of the people would not have an email address abut have mobile phones. Would Mega work? Can I invite via phone instead of via email?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • MEGA needs an email to sign up for an account, and folder invites. You can’t invite via a phone number.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • ulticomp

        Thanks for your prompt reply. However, what photo sharing application would you recommend for sharing where most users would access via mobile phones without any editing rights? Therefore, there would be 2 or 3 administrators and everyone else would only view the content.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        • MEGA would work for this. The admins can sign up for accounts (with an email) to edit, then send a read-only link to the photos/videos for mobile users.

          VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          • ulticomp

            Thanks Geoff, this is useful!

            VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
            Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • nobjizzer

    crap, would not even load the website so as to download the app?!!! perhaps this only works in NZ?!!! either that or service providers are blocking the servers wouldnt surprise me givem kims track history! thanks but no thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Works fine with Comcast in the U.S.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Peter van Rijswijk

    One year later this service has only gotten better I have only had great experiences so far.
    I have 500 + gig stored there and it great to not have to worry about losing my data. actually I for got about them with a old account 18 months they sent me an email to confirm if I wanted to keep my files you login and you are good to go.It keeps temp backups online and locally in case of file transfer disasters.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Mad_driver

    Don’t trust Mega anymore because it’s now owned by the government of New Zealand after they took all of Kim Dotcom’s shares from him. Kim himself says not to trust it

    http://www.wired.co.uk/news/archive/2015-07/31/kim-dotcom-mega-3

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Jeňa Kočí

      Oh I was actually concerned about this and it already happened. So looking elsewhere then…
      Thanks!

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Sanse

    Hi All, I have just downloaded the app to my Android phone. I don’t seem to have any problems, I have sent a photo to my friend, I can see video’s that I’ve uploaded, its just very slow transferring the photo’s from my gallary to MEGA. But no a real issue. I am a small user. But concern if I do lose data. 🙁

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • viewbowl

    I use Allavsoft to directly download and save VideoMega video to MP4, AVI, FLV, MOV, WMV, MKV.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • catchme221

    If you are tech savvy and are willing to spend a bit more effort registering your own S3 or Google storage account and use it with some free software service, for $60/year you can have 500 GB data online and cover as many computers as you want. . One of those services is bizfss.com. I especially like the “time machine” like feature and sync. I think S3/Google+Free Saas is the least expensive option, and the software works amazingly well.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • ian whillians

    Hi.
    I have been using mega since it launched & it has. progressivly got better.
    It’s sync clent work really well, I have never had an issue.
    Its possible to lose data using gdrive & onedrive if your not careful.
    I have 3 pc’s syncing with mega.
    But who would trust a single backup of data?
    I have mine synced to another drive & another cloud.
    if you lose data? Its probably your own fault.
    I highly recommend mega.
    Don’t listen to theres scare stories.
    just make sure you have multiple backups.
    IanW

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Thanks for the comment Ian. It’s good to know at least some people are happy with Mega 🙂

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Kevin Allen

    If you are price sensitive, i would recommend you seriously take a look at signing up for an Amazon AWS account, use S3 with free bizfss.com service, which will give you a price nobody can beat! and bizfss really offers great software features.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • delikizzz

    I lost all my files because megasync deleted the files from my PC when it synched up to the cloud. I wasn’t even trying to put those files so I deleted them from megasync and the rubbish AND I go back to my PC and all the files are gone as well???? What the hell??????????????????????

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • johnny

      careful when dealing with SYNCHRONISED backup solutions a.k.a. MIRRORING the exact actions you do on your PC = CLOUD SYNC
      vs
      CLOUD STorage

      Sorry for your loss :((

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • AmyAmy

    Thank you, Geoff. Your post was very clear. Love the pics.
    After spending over an hour googling MEGA, reading reviews, and scrutinizing, I loaded MEGA earlier today and started using it. So far, I love it and have not had issues. I do worry a bit about government seizing files or MEGA sinking ship… should I be?
    Also, you said that MEGA isn’t for non-techies. Well… I’m a non-techi and find it easy to use, unlike a lot of the other services. That’s the main reason I’m now with MEGA (that and it’s whopping 50G’s!)… love it!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Thanks Amy! There’s always the possibility of smaller cloud services going out of business, especially ones that offer large amounts of free space. As long as MEGA is not used as the only storage for irreplaceable files (see the 3-2-1 backup strategy), I think the risk is minimal. Even if the government did seize their servers, they presumably wouldn’t be able to decrypt the files.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • sid

    I have mega sync with imp files… and I reset my password using forgot. .. than I login in but no file is shown. …can any one tell how I recover the same.. .

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pinoy Tv Shows

    That is very good i think. We should use it. http://www.pinoytvshows.me/

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dylan Archer

    Joined mega today, now every time i go to their login page firefox crashes. LOL, no paid account for me i guess.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)